TOBA TEK SINGH: The district monitoring officer (DMO) for the by-election in NA-108 Faisalabad on Monday imposed a Rs25,000 fine on PML-N candidate Abid Sher Ali for violation of the election code of conduct defined by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP).

In his order, DMO Syed Basit Ali wrote that it was observed that Ali had violated the Para 42 of the code of conduct as announcements were made on his behalf in the mosques of constituency, saying that the federal government had lifted the fuel price adjustment (FPA) surcharge and relief would be given to them in the next power bills. It said that during the proceedings on Aug 27, Abid’s voice recording message was heard as evidence and he had admitted that the voice in the audio was his own.

The order added receipt of fine amount should be submitted to the election office within three days.

The Para 42 of the ECP’s electoral code of conduct, says: “political parties, candidates, their supporters, local government functionaries or elected representative, shall not announce or inaugurate, openly or in secret, their overall development schemes or development work or do anything which tends to influence the results of an election in favour of or against a particular candidate of political party after the announcement of election programme till the day of polling”.

Abid Sher Ali was issued a notice by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Aug 25 to summon him. Polling for NA-108, Faisalabad-VIII, is scheduled to be held on Sept 25.

Meanwhile, Returning Officer Irfan Kausar allotted symbols to all 12 contestants of the by-election in NA/108 Faisalabad.

Imran Khan has been allotted the symbol of bat, Abid Sher Ali tiger, Arsalan Arshad loudspeaker, Khurram Shahzad railway engine, Rizwan Mahmood traffic signals, Suhail Kashif ostrich, Shahbaz Ali Gulzar pitcher, Abdul Hafeez ox, Farrukh Habib scooter, Liaqat Ali cricket wicket, Muhammad Siddique crane and Muhammad Tahir has been allotted the symbol of excavator.

For NA-118, eight candidates are in the run. Prominent among them are Shazra Mansab Ali of the PML-N, Imran Khan of the PTI and Syed Afzaal Hussain Rizvi of the Tehreek Labbaik Pakistan.

Published in Dawn, August 30th, 2022

Categorized in: